Already a Member? Login

May/June Issue of Vein Specialist

View Table of Contents >>

AVF to Lead Update of VLU Guidelines

Ruth L. Bush, MD, JD

President, American Venous Forum

The Guidelines Oversight Committee of The American Venous Forum (AVF), under the leadership of Nicolas Mouawad, MD, MPH, MBA, is excited to announce that it is embarking on a revision of the 2014 Management of venous leg ulcers: Clinical practice guidelines of the Society for Vascular Surgery and the American Venous Forum by Thomas F. O’Donnell, MD, and colleagues. The revision of the guidelines document will be led by co-chairs Drs O’Donnell and Alisha Oropallo, MD. William Marston, MD, initiated this revision during his term as president and Brajesh K Lal, MD, also an AVF past president, will provide research and methodologic support.

A team of experts from 6 societies will refine and elevate standards in the management of venous leg ulcerations (VLUs), building on the foundation laid by the previous guidelines. This is truly an intersocietal effort with participation by the American Vein and Lymphatic Society, AVF, Society for Vascular Medicine, Society for Vascular Surgery, Society of Interventional Radiology, and the Wound Healing Society. With contributions of multi-disciplinary leaders in vascular and endovascular surgery, wound care, and vascular medicine, these guidelines will represent an evidence-based approach to addressing the challenges of VLUs. The guidelines will present a comprehensive framework with practical recommendations and decision-making tools on wound assessment, compression therapy, wound care, and adjunctive interventions including medical and interventional treatments to improve care and the lives of the patients we serve.

Click here for the Call for Volunteers for the VLU Guidelines Panel.

Alisha Roberta Oropallo, MD

Thomas F. O’Donnell, MD

AVF Attends EAVLA International Vein Conference

American Venous Forum


AVF Leadership was honored to attend the EAVLA International Vein Conference in Cairo, Egypt, in May.

Welcome New AVF Members!


Santiago Montroy-Santos Colombia
Alaa Al-Garhy Egypt
Javier Serralde Gallegos Mexico
Akshay Seenivasan United States
Chelsea Hermez United States
Maryam Sabir United States
Nishita Vootukuru United States
Paula Huertas United States
Richard Kennedy United States
Robert Berman United States
Sidharth Addepalli  United States
Tara McSweeney United States
Alex Lin United States
Zbigniew Moszczynski United States
Print Friendly, PDF & Email